May we go again please?

29 Jan

I have received a bunch of e-mails (well… three) with various “current sabbaticals planning to run for re-election.”-shit. I’m still waiting for someone to tell me why I should care about this. Someone even went to the trouble of making and sending me this fake piece of campaigning-material, seemingly suggesting that the current President and VPS are going to be re-running together.

From the e-mails I received it seems like one of the current sabbaticals is thought of as more likely to be running for re-election than the rest. I can only assume these tips came from the least reliable of sources; people within EUSA.

It’s quite fucked up actually. I thought I had a beef with EUSA. From the mails I have been receiving it seems like the general student attitude towards EUSA is nothing compared to the attitude EUSA has towards itself… and I thought I had anger management problems.

I therefore won’t say who seems to be the odds on favourite to run again, but it is one of the people in the picture above and it is the one with a beard. EUSA being EUSA they will apparently “soon” be having a meeting to discuss whether re-running should be allowed.

I only wanted a damn place to make vent my anger at the campaign-videos and the fucking posters. How the hell did this become a wannabe EUSA gossip blog? I’m ashamed of myself.

7 Responses to “May we go again please?”

  1. Anon January 30, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    You know at the end of Lord of the Rings, when Sam and Rosie get married…

    Yeah.

  2. ANON January 31, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I gotta say, the saabs don’t seem to be putting the work into these elections. Like, nominations open in a week, 2 of the roles are unopposed and the current team has been fucking around in new york, flaunting the fact that they have holidays and money most students dont. Why dont they go on theire holidays when students do instead of in term time? Why arent they doing everythign they can to get more students to run? If it turns out its becasue theyre running again I wouldn’t even be suprised, just further dissappointed that they don’t give a shit about anything except campaigning for nus and their own shit in jokes

  3. ANON January 31, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Also sam looks shite in that poster

  4. Anon E Mouse February 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    If anything shows why two year sabbaticals are a bad idea it’s how utterly out of touch our current sabbaticals have become. They are now a unit who treat students and reps with utter disregard. They are perfect, they are untouchable, no one else can understand as they don’t have the experiences they do.

    I thought better of ay least some of them. No matter their achievements the attacks launched on individuals who dare to criticise or question their actions leave a very bitter taste.

    • Two Year Sabb-otage February 1, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Yah, true. They just seem really stuck up now. And they have not done anything they promised. Most sabbs seem not to fulfil all their manifestos, but these four are the worst for it, I think.

      It seems like they are running because they have not found anything better to do next year, rather than because it seems like the greatest idea. If they go ahead they will win because their names are known, but it would just show how little they cared for the opinions of students, and how much better than everyone else they see themselves

  5. Anon February 1, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Someone explain to me how those four can swan off to New York during term time and it all be ok. If any major company had all its execs swan off on holiday together leaving now one in charge their’d be a firestorm and they’d be sacked. Idiots.

  6. C Leslie February 2, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Oddly, I saw that this poster has been printed off and put up at the sabbs’ desks in the EUSA office…

Leave a Reply

